Your Credit Union Partner

Click here to edit subtitle

Sarah Hope Marshall, MBA, CCUE

Sarah Marshall is the CEO of North Side Community Federal Credit Union, a small asset size CDFI credit union in Chicago, IL. She has spent over twenty years working in and studying community development, and is well versed in a broad range of issues affecting credit unions and their membership, with a particular focus on underserved communities. Previous work includes youth programming, community organizing, and working on environmental responsibility at a social enterprise.

At North Side, she has successfully executed a strategic plan that has led to new products and technology services, as well as loan and membership growth. The credit union has improved its capital ratio during her tenure as CEO, and continues to develop innovative solutions for underserved communities. Major successes include securing funding for and project management of Realtime ATM and debit card program and a core processor conversion.


  • MBA with a concentration in community development
  • CUNA Management School, Madison, WI - Certified Credit Union Executive – July 2016
  • Certified Credit Union Investment Professional – August 2018
  • Masters of Liberal Arts Candidate – Expected 2020


  • Opportunity Finance Network Public Policy Committee 2016
  • CitiLeadership Fellow – Opportunity Finance Network & Wharton School of Business 2015
  • CFPB Credit Union Advisory Council 2016 - Current
  • National Federation of Community Development Credit Unions Governmental Affairs Committee 2018

Speaking & Thought Leadership

  • CUInsight Regular Contributor
  • Feature Article in National Cooperative Business Association Journal 2017
  • TEDx Speaker 2017
  • NCUA Webinar Presenter “How, Why, What; Credit Union Diversity” 2017
  • Illinois Credit Union League SAS Conference Presenter; 2014, 2015, 2017
  • Opportunity Finance Network Conference Presenter: 2013, 2014, 2016
  • National Federation of Community Development Credit Unions Conference Presenter: 2014